Week 1

OK, so it’s two weeks since my last post, but I found a plan and it only started this week so I had a week of fiddling around.  I did a couple of short runs, including some intervals on the treadmill, but didn’t get round to a long run.

I have decided to follow, more or less, Hal Higdon’s Half Marathon plan.  I’m somewhere between the Beginner 2 and the Intermediate plan.  I don’t think I’ll make 5 runs a week, but I do want to add some speedwork, so I’ll aim for the intermediate plan but without all the shorter runs.

This week I’ve been away with work in Bristol so I rejigged the plan a bit.  I did the speedwork on Tuesday evening while my youngest swam.  I ran to the local park, found a field I thought looked about 400m and ran my laps round it.  Without any form of speed monitoring I went off far too fast, getting up to nearly 8mph on one lap – and when I measured it back at home, the lap was closer to 500m.  No wonder I only managed 3 before I felt sick!  I did complete two more half laps so I don’t feel too bad.  It was certainly a good work out!

In Bristol I set off to explore, but the basic map in the visitor guide didn’t warn me about the massive gradients on some of the roads!  Couldn’t track my route when I got home either, so not sure how far I ran, but it was nice to explore somewhere new.  35 minutes or thereabouts of running.

On Thursday I tried out the hotel gym.  I built my pace up from 5.5mph to 6.5mph and finished 5km in just over 30 minutes.  Very pleased with myself that I did two runs while away.  A pity I more than made up the calories as the food at the conference was excellent!

I just need to get a long run in this week now.  5 miles tomorrow anyone?

2 thoughts on “Week 1

  1. I’m a big fan of Hal Higdon’s plans. They prove you don’t need to run 5 times a week and do all sorts of fancy speed sessions. If you end up running a Marathon rather than a Half-Marathon, it’s important to remember that a marathon is mainly aerobic, therefore in any training programme, aerobic – i.e. <70% working heart rate – should be your priority.

    I know you've had time out from running, like I have, although my reasons have been different to yours. I started from scratch today. And I really do mean from scratch. I've come to the conclusion that my heavy heel striking gait is the reason why much of my running has ended in injury.

    So, following advice from a friend who has successfully changed her gait to run without heel striking, and running injury-free, there I was this morning at a local village hall, gently running up and down the hall in bare feet. Why bare feet? This was to make sure I was not heel striking, and to allow me to run more naturally. Believe me, you can't heel strike in bare feet – it hurts!

    I ran slowly, concentrating on form; maintaining core stability, concentrating on a fast turnover of steps, and landing lightly. Understandably, my calf muscles feel a little sore, and apart from a very small blister, I've come through unscathed. The big thing for me was that there was NO ANKLE PAIN. I usually get ankle pain when running so this was a revelation. So, I need to continue with this. I'll let you know how I get on.

    I guess the plan ultimately is to run automatically without heel striking, then I can invest in a pair of low heel/racing shoes, and continue to run naturally. That's the rough plan anyway!

Leave a Reply

