I’m back!

No idea what week this is now, but the schedule is pretty much out the window anyway.  After my last update I kept up with my midweek runs, but collecting my eldest two from Scout/Guide camp meant I deferred the long run until Tuesday.

Unfortunately life got in the way then and a family crisis meant I only got one run in that week, 3 miles on a treadmill on the Friday.

Then we were off to Cornwall for a lovely holiday.  I did manage two cliff path runs (well run/walks, I don’t do hills!).   On the second week I fell awkwardly and jarred my knee which meant the 11 mile long run I had planned didn’t happen.

Better views than a treadmill!

Better views than a treadmill!

20140820_120706

Back in Warrington a cold hard look at the schedule made me realise I don’t have long left and I really had to buck my ideas up.

I ran 4 miles on Tuesday, but set off too fast and set myself back again mentally.   The 3 treadmill miles on Friday were really tough mentally as I never felt I could keep running.

4 miles through the park on Saturday cheered me up, especially as one of the mile split times started with a 9! (9:59 mins per mile, but still sub 10).

Sunday was a beautiful day and after sorting out the garden I set off to run 10 miles.    I chose a route I’ve done before in half marathon training.   It includes the only hill in Warrington,  so I figured if I can get round this I can probably finish the half.  My hubby came with me.  As he’s still injured he rode a bike and really helped me to keep going in the last few really tough miles.

At the top of the hill

So today I’m very proud of myself for completing the 10 miles, just don’t ask me to stand up too quickly.

Leave a Reply

